Author Topic: Boston's speech to the Rotary Club of NYC  (Read 6249 times)

Offline Boston

• FSW Founder
  • FSW Rifleman
    • Javelin Press
Boston's speech to the Rotary Club of NYC
« on: February 22, 2006, 01:02:17 PM »
"The 21st Century geo-political polarization of America--Or, Why I Am Moving to Wyoming!"

A talk to the Rotary Club of New York, by Kenneth Royce, 30 November 2004

Common Law Copyright 2004-2006.? All rights reserved.

I've some people to thank who made my appearance here today possible.? Larry of FAME who invited me, and Andreas of the New York Rotary Club who welcomed me.  Although I am primarily an author, I've been giving more and more speeches lately, causing some of my colleagues to tease me:? "Ken, all somebody has to do is give you lunch and out pops a speech."? I replied, "Well, that's better than the inverse where I give a speech and out pops your lunch! "

<laughter>

I'll try to avoid that today...

I'd like to begin this talk to you today with a few words about... my Grandmother.? Not that she has won some kind of prestigious award, or is renowned for some great achievement.? She is a pretty typical elderly woman in her late 80s, but ironically this would seem to make her story unusual.

My elderly grandmother has been required, since 2000, to have her Social Security Number on her driver's license.? Why must she give a formerly private federal number on state documents as a national identifier?? Because of the so-called "Deadbeat Dads Database" legislation which alleges to track fathers who are behind on their child-support payments.

Hmmm.? My grandmother in a Deadbeat Dads Database.? Well, she's a she, and can't be a dad.? Not only that, being nearly 90 she can't have any more children.? Furthermore, even her youngest child is post-menopausal!