Author Topic: n00b  (Read 3562 times)

Offline Tron

n00b
« on: August 16, 2012, 03:56:48 AM »
Hail friends!

I decided to follow the web trail that Boston left all over his books and I've followed it here.  I always thought that we were pretty free here in the US of A but, alas I've been mistaken about that.  Through 12 years of military service (ongoing) and Boston's books I've pretty much decided my course of action.  Unfortunately, due to duty requirements and such its going to be somewhat more drawn out than I'd like.

Anyways, I am a 12 year Navy vet, trained in avionics repair and troubleshooting and ship's security.  As such I have working knowledge of electrical theory and design and have been qualified on the standard issue firearms in the Navy: M9, M16/M4, M240B and M500.  I toy with leatherworking, enjoy homebrewing and ride an American motorcycle.  I follow an 'alternative' religion that emphasizes community and honorable service.  My wife and I believe in doing the right thing even if it nips us in the bud after and we're expecting our first child in November.

My migration will probably come around my 20 year retirement from the military unless the 'admiral' wants us to move sooner and set roots before then.  But, I still have to sell the idea to her first.  Any 'lessons learned' that have been found useful would be great in that endeavor.

Till then, cheers and cowboy up!

Ben, aka: Tron

Offline KTKEWW

• FSW Associate
Re: n00b
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2012, 04:04:22 AM »
Tron,

Thank you for your service, even if it is in the Navy… I think you will find plenty or camaraderie and advice here. This forum is very deep, I have only been wading around for a few months and while I have not lost interest, I have not “seen the half of it”.

Welcome aboard!

"If there must be trouble, let it be in my day, that my child may have peace." -- Tom Paine, 1776

“Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.” -- Gandhi