Author Topic: new Energy & Power Engineering grad choosing between NH and WY  (Read 3607 times)

Offline Agent_Dale_Cooper

• Bureaucrash
new Energy & Power Engineering grad choosing between NH and WY
« on: January 23, 2009, 04:59:11 PM »
Hi all, I'm a 23yr old grad student in Mechanical Engineering for Energy or Power Generation. I'm done in May.

I signed up for the NH FSP in November. Since then I've been listening to Free Talk Live and hanging around Bureaucrash.com. I'm deciding between NH or WY. I think both have their strong points: NH has more jobs and more people, and therefore more social scenes, but it's getting overrun with Massachusetts rats. If there's an economic collapse, I'd prefer to be in WY with my own land to farm and protect. I could also engineer self-sufficient energy sources for my property with all that land in WY to work with. WY is beautiful and has many energy extraction jobs, but the towns are few and far between. I'm a young guy and I love being alone but also love to meet people (especially girls.) I'll keep looking for engineering or production jobs in both states and see where I'm at by this summer!

I suppose I have to post 10 times before signing the FSW pledge?

Offline alexspartan

• FSW Member, Wyoming Bound
    • My Blog
Re: new Energy & Power Engineering grad choosing between NH and WY
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2009, 05:07:46 PM »
I'm 22 and finishing up my Econ degree.  I plan on either moving out to Laramie, because that's where the UW is (and therefore the women), or joining the Marines.  Right now, I'm leaning heavily towards the military.  There will be plenty of opportunities in the energy industry, as that part of Wyoming's economy is just starting to grow to it's potential.  It's a good place to work for whatever energy companies are out there.  I chose Wyoming for the same reason you mentioned; NH has way too much spill-over from Boston and the rest of the East Coast.  Hell, it's a New England state.